Colonial Collections in Oldenburg

Colonial Collecting Practices in Military Contexts - Study of the Ethnological Collections in the State Museum of Nature and Man Oldenburg

The PAESE project at the State Museum Nature and Man Oldenburg investigates the origin – the provenance – and the circumstances of acquisition of ethnological objects from colonial contexts. The focus is on objects from former German colonial areas, as they form the main part of the colonial contexts from which the objects in the State Museum originate. This results in a regional focus on today's countries Tanzania, Cameroon and Papua New Guinea.

One focus of the Oldenburg sub-project is the collection of the Langheld brothers (Wilhelm, Johannes and Friedrich, created in the period between 1889 and 1901). The State Museum Nature and Man Oldenburg has more than 1,000 objects from this collection (mainly everyday and utility items, as well as weapons). The Oldenburg part of the collection consists primarily of objects from the territory of present-day Tanzania. Objects in the collection are ceramics, wickerwork, weapons, jewellery, clothing, pipes, figurative representations, and vessels made of various materials. On the basis of the Langheld brothers' collection, the spectrum of acquisition and collection circumstances in colonial contexts (gift, robbery, purchase) can be examined and demonstrated. The examination of the collectors' biographies and the analysis of the concrete collection contexts and circumstances should provide a first approximation of the perceptions, thought patterns, and attitudes of the collectors, which in an exemplary fashion allow conclusions to be drawn about the motivation and attitude of collectors towards the objects and people in their contexts of origin. Connected with this is the question of the extent to which unjust contexts can be reconstructed from this.

The respective objects from colonial contexts are examined for their provenance and comprehensively digitized. New methods of 3D digitisation will also be tested. The aim is to generate a transparent overview of the Oldenburg holdings and to link the results of provenance research with these digital holdings. The results are to be made available to researchers worldwide via the project database.

The State Museum Nature and Man Oldenburg is committed to a dialogical, transparent and open-ended exchange with members of the societies of origin. The aim is an open approach to the colonial past of the State Museum Nature and Man Oldenburg and a cooperation with the societies of origin, which will provide trend-setting impulses for further work with (and about) the ethnological collections from colonial contexts.

Contact:

Researcher: Jennifer Tadge (State Museum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg)

Head of the Subproject: Dr. Ursula Warnke (State Museum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg)

Academic Advisor: Prof. Dr. Dagmar Freist (Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg, Institute of History)

Koloniale Sammlungen in Oldenburg

Koloniale Sammelpraktiken in militärischen Kontexten - Untersuchung der Ethnologischen Bestände im Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg

Das PAESE-Projekt am Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg untersucht die Herkunft – die Provenienz – und die Erwerbsumstände der ethnologischen Objekte aus kolonialen Kontexten. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf Objekten aus ehemaligen deutschen Kolonialgebieten, da sie den Hauptteil der kolonialen Kontexte bilden, aus denen die Objekte im Landesmuseum stammen. Daraus ergibt sich ein regionaler Schwerpunkt auf den heutigen Ländern Tansania, Kamerun und Papua-Neuguinea.

Ein Fokus des Oldenburger Teilprojektes liegt auf der Sammlung der Langheld-Brüder (Wilhelm, Johannes und Friedrich, angelegt in einem Zeitraum von 1889 und 1901). Das Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg verfügt über mehr als 1000 Objekte dieser Sammlung (v.a. Alltags- und Gebrauchsgegenstände, sowie Waffen). Bei dem Oldenburger Teil der Sammlung handelt es sich primär um Objekte aus dem Gebiet des heutigen Tansania. Gegenstände der Sammlung sind Keramiken, Korbwaren, Waffen, Schmuck, Kleidung, Pfeifen, figürliche Darstellungen und Gefäße aus verschiedenen Materialien. Anhand der Sammlung der Brüder Langheld lässt sich das Spektrum an Erwerbs- und Sammlungsumständen in kolonialen Kontexten (Geschenk, Raub, Kauf) untersuchen und aufzeigen. Die Auseinandersetzung mit den Biografien der Sammler und die Analyse der konkreten Sammlungskontexte und -umstände soll eine erste Annäherung an Wahrnehmungen, Denkmuster und Einstellungen der Sammler geben, die exemplarisch Rückschlüsse auf die Motivation und die Haltung von Sammlern zu den Objekten und Menschen in ihren Herkunftskontexten erlauben. Damit verbunden ist die Frage, inwieweit sich daraus Unrechtskontexte rekonstruieren lassen.

Die entsprechenden Objekte aus kolonialen Kontexten werden auf ihre Provenienz untersucht und umfassend digitalisiert. Dabei sollen auch neue Verfahren der 3D-Digitalisierung erprobt werden. Ziel ist es, eine transparente Übersicht über die Oldenburger Bestände zu generieren und die Ergebnisse der Provenienzforschung mit diesen digitalen Beständen zu verknüpfen. Die Ergebnisse sollen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern über die Projektdatenbank online weltweilt zur Verfügung stehen.

Das Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg setzt sich dabei für einen dialogischen, transparenten und ergebnisoffenen Austausch mit Mitgliedern der Herkunftsgesellschaften ein. Ziel ist ein offener Umgang mit der kolonialen Vergangenheit des Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg und eine Zusammenarbeit mit den Herkunftsgesellschaften, welche richtungsweisende Impulse für die weitere Arbeit mit (und über) den ethnologischen Beständen aus kolonialen Kontexten liefern wird.

Kontakt:

Projektmitarbeiterin: Jennifer Tadge (Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg)

Teilprojektleiterin: Dr. Ursula Warnke (Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch Oldenburg)

Universitäre Betreuerin: Prof. Dr. Dagmar Freist (Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg, Institut für Geschichte)