Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum Hildesheim

Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum Hildesheim

  

General information on the museum

When the Hildesheim Museum was founded in 1844, it was initially named “City Museum” (“Städtisches Museum”). In 1894 it was first renamed “Roemer-Museum” and then got its current name, “Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum”, in 1911. It is a multidisciplinary museum with collections from natural history, Egyptology, city history, and ethnography. While the ethnographic collection comprises about 14.000 objects from all continents today, it consisted of no more than 28 objects when the museum was founded. Its subsequent growth was not least due to the efforts of museum co-founder Hermann Roemer who placed importance on enlarging all collections from the various disciplines. Particularly Hildesheim-born people living overseas were called upon to contribute to the growth of the ethnographic collection; and they did. An important role in Hermann Roemer’s network was played by Ludwig “Louis” Gottfried Dyes (1831–1903), a native of Hildesheim who was a cousin of the Roemer brothers. He contributed to the growth of various collections including the ethnographic holdings. Being a merchant and Imperial and Royal Consul General of Austria in Bremen, he used his business connections and networks to present the museum with important collections from Oceania (Zembsch collection), Namibia (Hoepfner collection, see below), and other places.
From the 1880s onward, director Roemer (until 1894) and his successor Achilles Andreae (1894–1905) – who were not ethnologists but geologists – relied on Johannes Dietrich Eduard Schmeltz (1839–1909) for guidance when it came to enlarging and exhibiting the museum’s ethnographic holdings. Schmeltz, who had begun his academic career as curator of the ethnographic collection at the Museum Godeffroy in Hamburg, had become curator at the National Museum of Ethnology in Leiden in 1882. From 1905 until 1914, the Berlin ethnologist and interim director (1905/06) Edgar Walden (1876–1914) was in charge of the ethnographic collection and further enlarged it, too, mainly with doublets of the Royal Museum of Ethnography Berlin where he was employed.

General information on collections from colonial contexts at the RPM

The majority of the selected holdings that are the focus of the PAESE subproject at the RPM came to the museum between 1844 and 1900, that is, largely in Hermann Roemer’s lifetime. A considerable part of the ethnographic collection as a whole is from colonial contexts. There are objects from the former German colonies in Africa (Cameroon, Togo, German Southwest Africa, German East Africa) as well as from German New Guinea in Oceania. However, the collections at the RPM also include objects from colonies of other colonial powers (Great Britain, The Netherlands). An example of the latter is a collection of objects from Sulawesi under study in the PAESE subproject. The collection was compiled by Dr. Hermann Muhlert (1816–1870), a native of Hildesheim who for many years was in Dutch service as an army doctor. In the Dutch East Indies he was first stationed in Java, then (from 1855 onward) in Sulawesi (“Celebes”).
However, a considerable number of objects whose provenance is under study in the PAESE subproject at the RPM were collected – and acquired by the Hildesheim museum – even before the onset of formal colonial rule. These include a substantial Namibia collection (mainly Herero) complied by Carl Hoepfner while conducting two prospection surveys on the eve of the establishment of the colony of German Southwest Africa.
It has not (yet) been possible to establish the exact number of ethnographic objects from colonial contexts at the RPM.

Information on the collections under study in PAESE

The following holdings of the RPM are under study in the PAESE subproject: collections from Namibia (various collectors including Carl Hoepfner [prospection surveys in Namibia 1882–1884] and the missionary Wilhelm Eich [1850–1935]; from the Dutch East Indies/Indonesia (Dr. Hermann Muhlert collection, before 1860); as well as ethnographic objects from Micronesia and Polynesia purchased from the Museum Godeffroy, Hamburg, in the late 1870s/early 1880s (various collectors; the objects at the RPM include items definitely collected by Amalie Dietrich and Johann Stanislaus Kubary).

#Elefantenkopf-Pfeife Sammlung Braunschweig

Headdress (ekori)
Namibia, Herero, late 19th century, leather, iron beads, Inv. no. V 1.400, Unknown collector.

 

Contact

Researcher: Dr. Sabine Lang

Curator: Dr. Andrea Nicklisch

Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum Hildesheim

Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum Hildesheim 

 

Allgemeine Informationen über die Institution

Das 1844 gegründete Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum (RPM) in Hildesheim (vormals: Städtisches Museum, ab 1894 Roemer-Museum, seit 1911 Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum) ist ein Mehrspartenmuseum mit Beständen aus den Bereichen Naturkunde, Ägyptologie, Stadtgeschichte und Ethnologie. Die ethnologische Sammlung umfasst dabei ca. 14.000 Objekte aus sämtlichen Erdteilen. Bei Gründung des Museums belief sich diese Sammlung auf 28 Objekte, anschließend wurde sie nicht zuletzt auf Betreiben des Museums-Mitbegründers Hermann Roemer, der Wert auf eine Vermehrung der Bestände sämtlicher Sammlungsbereiche legte, kontinuierlich ausgebaut; insbesondere auch Hildesheimer in Übersee wurden aufgerufen, die ethnologischen Sammlungen zu mehren, und kamen diesem Wunsch auch nach. Eine bedeutende Rolle innerhalb Roemers Netzwerk bei der Vergrößerung diverser Sammlungen einschließlich der ethnologischen spielte Ludwig „Louis“ Gottfried Dyes (1831-1903), ein gebürtiger Hildesheimer und Cousin der Roemer-Brüder. Als Großkaufmann und österreichischer Generalkonsul in Bremen ließ er seine Beziehungen und Netzwerke spielen und machte dem Museum bedeutende Sammlungen zum Geschenk, so etwa aus Ozeanien (Sammlung Zembsch) und Namibia (Sammlung Hoepfner, siehe unten).

Ab den 1880er-Jahren ließen sich die Direktoren Roemer (bis 1894) und dessen Nachfolger Achilles Andreae (1894-1905) (die keine Ethnologen, sondern Geologen waren) bei Vermehrung und Ausstellung der ethnologischen Bestände von Johannes Dietrich Eduard Schmeltz (1839-1909) beraten, ehemaliger Kurator am Hamburger Museum Godeffroy und seit 1882 Kurator am Völkerkundemuseum Leiden. Von 1905 bis 1914 wurde die ethnologische Sammlung von dem Berliner Ethnologen und Interimsdirektor (1905/06) Edgar Walden (1876-1914) betreut und erweitert, vor allem aus den Dubletten des Königlichen Museums für Völkerkunde in Berlin, an dem er tätig war.

Allgemeine Information zur Sammlung aus kolonialen Kontexten im RPM

Die im Fokus des Hildesheimer PAESE-Teilprojektes stehenden Sammlungsteile gelangten überwiegend in der Zeit zwischen 1844 und 1900 an das RPM, also weitgehend zu Lebzeiten Hermann Roemers. Aus kolonialen Kontexten stammt ein nicht unwesentlicher Teil der ethnologischen Sammlung – zum einen aus den ehemaligen deutschen Kolonien in Afrika (Kamerun, Togo, Deutsch-Südwestafrika, Deutsch-Ostafrika), zum anderen aus Deutsch-Neuguinea in Ozeanien. Aber auch aus Kolonien anderer Kolonialmächte (Großbritannien, Niederlande) sind Objekte an das Hildesheimer Museum gelangt. Ein Beispiel hierfür im Rahmen des vorliegenden Teilprojektes ist eine Sammlung von Gegenständen aus Sulawesi des Hildesheimers Dr. Hermann Muhlert (1816-1870), der als Militärarzt lange Jahre in niederländischen Diensten stand und in „Niederländisch-Indien“ zunächst auf Java, dann ab 1855 in Sulawesi („Celebes“) stationiert war.

Eine Anzahl Objekte, deren Provenienz im Rahmen des Teilprojektes am RPM untersucht wird, wurde allerdings noch vor Beginn einer formalen Kolonialherrschaft gesammelt und vom Hildesheimer Museum erworben, so etwa die umfangreiche Namibia-Sammlung (v.a. Herero) von Carl Hoepfner, der die Objekte dort während Prospektionsreisen am Vorabend der Etablierung der Kolonie Deutsch-Südwestafrika sammelte. Zahlenmäßig exakt beziffern lassen sich die ethnologischen Bestände aus kolonialen Kontexten im RPM gegenwärtig (noch) nicht.

Informationen zu in PAESE zu erforschenden Teilbeständen

Gegenstand der Forschung im Rahmen des PAESE-Teilprojektes sind Bestände aus Namibia (verschiedene Sammler, darunter Carl Hoepfner [Prospektionsreisen nach Namibia 1882-1884] und der Missionar Wilhelm Eich [1850-1935]), Niederländisch-Indien/Indonesien (Sammlung Dr. Hermann Muhlert, vor 1860) sowie Ethnographica aus Mikronesien und Polynesien, die Ende der 1870er-/Anfang der 1880er-Jahre vom Hamburger Museum Godeffroy erworben wurden (ebenfalls verschiedene Sammler, darunter bezüglich der Objekte im RPM nachweislich Amalie Dietrich und Johann Stanislaus Kubary).

#Elefantenkopf-Pfeife Sammlung Braunschweig
Frauen-Kopfschmuck (ekori) mit Kopfband, Herero, Ende 19. Jahrhundert, Leder mit Eisenperlen, Inv.-Nr. V 1.400, 1.401, Sammler unbekannt

 

Kontakt

Projektbearbeiterin: Dr. Sabine Lang

Kuratorin: Dr. Andrea Nicklisch