State Museum Hannover

State Museum Hannover

General information about the institution

The Landesmuseum Hannover, the largest national state museum in Lower Saxony, houses the Department of Ethnology, Archaeology and Natural History as well as the State Gallery. It evolved from the Museum für Kunst und Wissenschaft (Museum of Art and Science), founded in 1856 by civic associations. It was later called Provinzialmuseum. The Department of Ethnology of the museum holds one of the oldest collections in Germany: It goes back to the Cabinet of Rarities of King Ernst August (1771 – 1851), doublet transfers from the Academic Museum in Göttingen and ethnographic objects that were once held by the Natural History Society of Lower Saxony. This early collection consists mainly of objects that were given as gifts to the royal house or to the associations, or pieces by famous explorers such as James Cook, Georg Forster or Hermann and Robert von Schlagintweit.

General information on collections from colonial contexts in the respective institution

Since the Provinzialmuseum concentrated its ethnographic collection on the former German colonies during the colonial period but also in the post-colonial phase, the depot still contains a particularly large number of objects from these regions. Jacobus Reimers, director of the Provinzialmuseum between 1890 and 1910, contacted various officials in the German colonies in 1894 in order to actively boost the development of the collection. His aim was to promote the "colonial idea". He was quite successful with his request: Between 1884 and 1919 there was a significant increase in ethnographic objects in the collection. His successor Karl Hermann Jacob-Friesen supported a colonial-revisionist agenda and further expanded the collecting focus. Thus, the current density of objects from the former German colonial areas is not surprising.

Information on the sub-collections to be researched in PAESE

With almost 1,500 objects from Cameroon, this collection is the largest collection from an African country in Hanover. The research project therefore focuses on the collection from Cameroon. Of this total, 925 pieces were given to the museum during the entire colonial period of Cameroon, i.e. between 1884 and 1961. During the German colonial period 655 objects were received. A particularly large number of objects from Cameroon originate from the West Region of the country, the so-called Grassfields, which is why this region is given special consideration in the project.

#Elefantenkopf-Pfeife Sammlung Braunschweig

Throne, Cameroon

Contact:

Curator: Mareike Späth

Subproject: Conditions of acquisitions in colonial Cameroon

Researcher: Bianca Baumann

Head of the Subproject: Dr. Claudia Andratschke

Landesmuseum Hannover

Landesmuseum Hannover

Allgemeine Informationen über die Institution

Das Landesmuseum Hannover, als größtes staatliches Museum Niedersachsens, beherbergt neben dem Fachbereich Ethnologie ebenfalls die Archäologie, Landesgalerie und Naturkunde. Es ging aus dem Museum für Kunst und Wissenschaft, gegründet im Jahre 1856, hervor, das durch bürgerliche Vereine ins Leben gerufen wurde. Später wurde es als Provinzialmuseum bezeichnet. Der ethnologische Fachbereich des Landesmuseums Hannover verwahrt eine der ältesten Sammlungen Deutschlands: Sie geht auf das Raritätenkabinett des Königs Ernst August (1771 – 1851), Dublettenüberweisungen des Academischen Museums zu Göttingen sowie Ethnographika des Naturhistorischen Vereins für Niedersachsen zurück. Diese frühe Sammlung besteht vorwiegend aus Objekten, die als Geschenke an das Königshaus oder an die Vereine weitergegeben wurden, beziehungsweise Stücken von berühmten Forschungsreisender wie James Cook, Georg Forster oder Hermann und Robert von Schlagintweit.

Allgemeine Informationen zu Sammlungen aus kolonialen Kontexten in der jeweiligen Institution

Da das Provinzialmuseum während der Kolonialzeit aber auch in der nachkolonialen Phase den Sammelschwerpunkt auf die ehemaligen deutschen Kolonien legte, befinden sich noch heute besonders viele Objekte aus diesen Regionen im Depot. Jacobus Reimers, Direktor des Provinzialmuseums zwischen 1890 und 1910, kontaktierte 1894 diverse Kolonialbeamte in den deutschen Kolonien, um so aktiv den Sammlungsaufbau voranzubringen. Er hatte zum Ziel den „colonialen Gedanken“ zu fördern. Mit seiner Bitte war er durchaus erfolgreich und es kam zwischen 1884 und 1919 zum sprunghaften Anstieg von Ethnografika . Sein Nachfolger Karl Hermann Jacob-Friesen unterstützte eine kolonialrevisionistische Agenda und baute weiter den Schwerpunkt aus. Somit verwundert die heutige Dichte an Objekten aus den ehemaligen Kolonialgebieten nicht.

Informationen zu in PAESE zu erforschende Teilbestände

Mit knapp 1.500 Objekten aus Kamerun bildet diese Sammlung in Hannover den größten Bestand aus einem afrikanischen Land, weswegen der Fokus im Forschungsprojekt auf den kamerunischen Objektbeständen liegt. Davon sind 925 Stücke während der gesamten Kolonialzeit Kameruns, also zwischen 1884 und 1961, an das Landesmuseum gekommen. 655 Objekteingänge gab es während der deutschen Kolonialzeit. Besonders viele Objekte aus Kamerun stammen aus dem Nordwesten des Landes, dem sogenannten Grasland, weswegen diese Region im Projekt besonders betrachtet wird.

#Elefantenkopf-Pfeife Sammlung Braunschweig

Thron, Kamerun

Kontakt:

Kuratorin: Mareike Späth

Teilprojekt: Erwerbsumstände im kolonialen Kamerun

Projektmitarbeiterin: Bianca Baumann

Stellvertretende Teilprojektleiterin: Dr. Claudia Andratschke