Ethnological Collection of the Georg-August-University Göttingen

Ethnological Collection of the Georg-August-University Göttingen

General information about the institution

The Ethnological Collection of the Georg-August-University Göttingen is one of the most important teaching and research collections in the German-speaking world. Its beginnings date back to the time of the Enlightenment. In 1773, the Royal Academic Museum was found at the University, whose holdings soon included the first ethnographic objects. On the initiative of Johann Friedrich Blumenbach (1752-1840), extensive collections from the South Seas and Northwest America (Cook/Forster Collection) as well as the Arctic polar region (Baron von Asch Collection) reached Göttingen as late as the 18th century. These two unique old holdings still establish the international reputation of the collection today.

Meanwhile, the collection counts about 17,000 objects from all continents. It also includes graphics and paintings, photographs and hands-on objects of museum education. Since December 2017, the first holdings have been accessible on the online collection portal of the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen. Depending on the available funds, the online presentation of the collection will be successively expanded.

 

General information on collections from colonial contexts in the respective institution

The precise recording of the holdings from colonial contexts is the subject of current research. The heterogeneity of the existing convolutes as well as the often insufficient documentation of the entries make this work a small-scale and time-consuming affair.

According to the current status, between 1884 and 1918, approximately 450 objects from the German colonial territories were added to the collection. Several hundred further objects did not reach the University of Göttingen until later, but their original acquisition context also lies in the period mentioned. In addition, there are extensive convolutes of objects for which either the year of acquisition or the regional allocation cannot yet be clearly determined, but for which a colonial acquisition context is considered a possibility.

 

 

Information on the sub-collections to be researched in PAESE

The Ethnological Collection of the Georg-August-University Göttingen is home to two sub-projects of the joint project, which work closely together. In both studies, object collections with different characteristics in terms of object types, materials, acquisition contexts and participating people are taken into account.

One sub-project is devoted to the university use of objects in teaching and research. For this purpose, those holdings are considered that allow conclusions to be drawn about the connections between colonial collections and university practice. A further focus is on collections from present-day Tanzania. These studies are institutionally linked to the Ethnological Collection and are conducted by Hannah Feder.

The dissertation project (working title: Colonialism as It was Taught – the Teachings of Colonialism. Colonial Holdings of the Ethnographic Collection Göttingen and their Academic Utilisations ) is conceived as provenance research and focuses on the history of the impact of collection holdings of the Ethnological Collection Göttingen from colonial contexts by analysing their histories of documentation, use and interpretation. University collections are understood as places with epistemological power, which have been and are still being interrelated with university practices of teaching and research. Provenance research is understood as a contribution to the understanding of complex collection histories beyond the approaches of acquisition history and object biography. In a combination of historical and ethnological methods, insights into collection-related historical practices of the appropriation of objects as well as the university production of meaning and knowledge as academic practice are to be generated. By means of cooperative research elements, the current relevance of colonial collections for today's research practice will also be investigated. The overarching goal of the project is to contribute to the development of a complex collection history and thus to the history of science, disciplines and institutions as well as to the colonial context in interaction with the production of meaning and knowledge.

A second sub-project analyses networks and trade routes. The focus of the investigations is on objects from the German colonies in the Pacific, especially from today's Papua New Guinea. These are institutionally linked to the Department of Modern History and are conducted by Sara Müller. Aim of the dissertation project (working title: Many roads lead to Göttingen. The Ethnological Collection of the Georg-August-University of Göttingen and the International Trade Routes and Networks in the 19th and 20th Century) is the reconstruction of trade routes and networks between Germany and its former colony in German New Guinea, today's Papua New Guinea. Those networks and trade routes that are directly related to objects from the Ethnographic Collection of the University of Göttingen will be examined and analysed. Of interest are those objects that were acquired in the South Sea Colony between 1890 and 1914 and are thus to be seen in a colonial context. On the basis of these object, various questions will be investigated: Who were the men and women who produced these objects and traded with them or from whom they were stolen. How did Europeans, both female and male, and also locals acquire objects in the colonies? Why are these objects in Göttingen today and how did they get here? How has the significance of the objects changed in this transfer process? What motives did the actors pursue in producing / giving away / selling / buying the objects or appropriating them by force?

In order to answer these questions, various sources have been used. In addition to the archives of the Ethnological Collection of the University of Göttingen, travel descriptions of the collectors, correspondence, publications and the objects themselves will be analysed. The historical context from which the objects originate will also be considered. This includes contemporary political and social debates as well as collection strategies, standards and the contemporary understanding of the generation of knowledge. On this basis, the work will contribute to the reappraisal of German colonial history in Oceania, as well as to the reappraisal of the colonial collection holdings of the Ethnological Collection in Göttingen.

#Elefantenkopf-Pfeife Sammlung Braunschweig

Breast Ornaments, Papua New Guinea

Contact

 

Curator: Dr. Michael Kraus

 

Subprojekts:

Trade Routes and Networks

Researcher: Sara Müller

Head of the Subproject and Academic Adviser: Prof. Dr. Rebekka Habermas

 

Collecting and Teaching

Researcher: Hannah Feder

Head of the Subproject: Dr. Michael Kraus

Academic Adviser: Prof. Dr. Elfiede Hermann

Ethnologische Sammlung der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Ethnologische Sammlung der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Allgemeine Informationen über die Institution

Die Ethnologische Sammlung der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen ist eine der bedeutendsten Lehr- und Forschungssammlungen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Ihre Anfänge reichen bis in die Zeit der Aufklärung zurück. 1773 wurde an der Universität das Königliche Academische Museum gegründet, zu dessen Bestand bald auch erste Ethnographica zählten. Auf Initiative von Johann Friedrich Blumenbach (1752-1840) gelangten noch im 18. Jahrhundert umfangreiche Konvolute aus der Südsee und dem nordwestlichen Amerika (Cook/Forster-Sammlung) sowie der arktischen Polarregion (Baron von Asch-Sammlung) nach Göttingen. Diese beiden einzigartigen Altbestände begründen bis heute den internationalen Ruf der Sammlung.
Mittlerweile zählt die Sammlung ca. 17.000 Objekte aus allen Kontinenten. Weiterhin umfasst sie Grafiken und Gemälde, Fotografien sowie Hands-On-Objekte der Museumspädagogik. Seit Dezember 2017 sind erste Bestände im Online-Sammlungsportal der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen einsehbar. In Abhängigkeit von den vorhandenen Mitteln soll die Online-Stellung der Sammlung sukzessive ausgebaut werden.

 

Allgemeine Informationen zu Sammlungen aus kolonialen Kontexten in der jeweiligen Institution

Die genaue Erfassung der Bestände aus kolonialen Kontexten ist Gegenstand aktueller Recherchen. Die Heterogenität der vorhandenen Konvolute sowie die oft unzureichende Dokumentation der Eingänge machen diese Arbeiten zu einer kleinteiligen und zeitaufwändigen Angelegenheit.

Nach gegenwärtigem Stand kamen zwischen 1884 und 1918 ca. 450 Objekte aus den deutschen Kolonialgebieten in die Sammlung. Mehrere hundert weitere Objekte gelangten zwar erst später an die Göttinger Universität, doch liegt ihr ursprünglicher Erwerbungskontext ebenfalls im genannten Zeitraum. Darüber hinaus existieren umfassende Konvolute, bei denen entweder das Erwerbsjahr oder die regionale Zuordnung bislang nicht eindeutig bestimmbar sind, ein kolonialer Erwerbungskontext aber als wahrscheinlich gilt.

 

Informationen zu in PAESE zu erforschende Teilbestände

An der Ethnologischen Sammlung der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen sind zwei Teilprojekte des Verbundprojektes angesiedelt, die eng zusammenarbeiten. In beiden Untersuchungen werden Objektbestände mit unterschiedlichen Merkmalen hinsichtlich Objekttypen, Materialien, Erwerbszusammenhängen und beteiligten Akteurinnen und Akteuren berücksichtigt.

Ein Teilprojekt widmet sich der universitären Verwendung von Ethnographica in Lehre und Forschung. Hierzu werden solche Bestände betrachtet, die Rückschlüsse auf Zusammenhänge von kolonialen Sammlungen und universitärer Praxis zulassen. Ein weiterer Fokus liegt auf Beständen aus dem heutigen Tansania. Diese Untersuchungen sind institutionell an die Ethnologische Sammlung angebunden und werden von Hannah Feder durchgeführt.

Das Dissertationsprojekt (Arbeitstitel: Kolonialismus in der Lehre – Lehren aus dem Kolonialismus. Kolonialzeitliche Bestände der Ethnologischen Sammlung Göttingen und ihre Verwendung in der universitären Praxis) ist als Provenienzforschung angelegt und nimmt die Wirkungsgeschichte von Sammlungsbeständen der Ethnologischen Sammlung Göttingen aus kolonialen Kontexten über die Analyse ihrer Dokumentations-, Nutzungs- und Deutungsgeschichten in den Blick. Universitätssammlungen werden dabei als Orte mit epistemologischer Wirkungsmacht begriffen, die in einem Wechselverhältnis zu universitären Praktiken des Lehrens und Forschens standen und stehen. Provenienzforschung wird über erwerbsgeschichtliche und objektbiographische Ansätze hinaus als ein Beitrag zum Verständnis komplexer Sammlungsgeschichten verstanden. In einer Verbindung von geschichtswissenschaftlichen und ethnologischen Methoden sollen sowohl Erkenntnisse über sammlungsbezogene historische Praktiken der Vereinnahmung von Objekten, als auch der universitären Bedeutungs- und Wissensproduktion als akademische Praxis generiert werden. Mittels kooperativer Forschungselemente wird zudem nach der aktuellen Relevanz kolonialer Sammlungen für die heutige Forschungspraxis gefragt werden. Übergreifendes Ziel des Projektes ist es einen Beitrag zur Erschließung einer komplexen Sammlungsgeschichte und damit zur Wissenschafts-, Disziplinen- und Institutionengeschichte als auch zu Kolonialität in Wechselwirkung zu Bedeutungs- und Wissensproduktionen zu leisten.

Ein zweites Teilprojekt analysiert Netzwerke und Handelsbeziehungen. Dabei stehen die Bestände aus den deutschen Kolonien im Pazifik, vor allem aus dem heutigen Papua-Neuguinea, im Mittelpunkt der Untersuchungen. Diese sind institutionell an das Seminar für Mittlere und Neuere Geschichte angebunden und werden von Sara Müller durchgeführt. Ziel des Dissertationsprojektes (Arbeitstitel: Viele Wegen führen nach Göttingen. Die ethnologische Sammlung der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen und die internationalen Handelswege und Netzwerke im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert) ist die Rekonstruktion von Handelswegen und Netzwerken zwischen Deutschland und seiner ehemaligen Kolonie in Deutsch-Neuguinea, dem heutigen Papua-Neuguinea. Betrachtet und analysiert werden sollen jene Netzwerke und Handelswege, die in direktem Zusammenhang mit Objekten aus der Ethnographischen Sammlung der Universität Göttingen stehen. Von Interesse sind dabei jene Objekte die zwischen 1890 und 1914 in der Südseekolonie erworben wurden und somit in einem kolonialen Zusammenhang zu sehen sind. Auf Grundlage dieser Objektbestände wird verschiedenen Fragen nachgegangen: Wer waren die Männer und Frauen, die diese Objekte herstellten und mit ihnen handelten bzw. von denen diese entwendet wurden. Wie erwarben Europäer wie Europäerinnen und auch Einheimische Objekte in den Kolonien? Warum sind diese Objekte heute in Göttingen und wie kamen sie hierher? Wie hat sich die Bedeutung der Objekte in diesem Transferprozess verändert? Welche Motive verfolgten die Akteurinnen und Akteure die Objekte produzierten/verschenkten/verkauften/kauften oder sich gewaltsam aneigneten?

Um diese Fragen beantworten zu können, werden verschiedene Quellenbestände herangezogen. Neben den Archivalien der Ethnologischen Sammlung der Universität Göttingen werden Reisebeschreibungen der Sammlerinnen und Sammler, Korrespondenz, Publikationen und die Objekte selbst analysiert. Betrachtet werden soll außerdem der historische Kontext, dem die Objekte entstammen. Dazu zählen zeitgenössische politische und soziale Debatten sowie Sammlungsstrategien, Maßstäbe und das zeitgenössische Verständnis der Generierung von Wissen. Auf dieser Grundlage soll die Arbeit zur Aufarbeitung der Deutschen Kolonialgeschichte in Ozeanien, sowie zur Aufarbeitung des kolonialzeitlichen Sammlungsbestandes der Ethnologischen Sammlung in Göttingen beitragen.

 

#Elefantenkopf-Pfeife Sammlung Braunschweig

Brustschmuck, Papua-Neuguinea

Kontakt

 

Kustos: Dr. Michael Kraus

 

Teilprojekte:

Handelswege und Netzwerke

Projektbearbeiterin: Sara Müller

Teilprojektleiterin und universitäre Betreuung: Rebekka Habermas

 

Sammeln und Lehren

Projektbearbeiterin: Hannah Feder

Teilprojektleiter: Dr. Michael Kraus

Universitäre Betreuung: Prof. Dr. Elfriede Hermann