Municipal Museum Braunschweig

Municipal Museum Braunschweig

General information about the institution

The Municipal Museum Braunschweig was founded in 1861 by committed Braunschweig citizens with the aim of establishing collections relating to the art and cultural history of the city. Today the museum contains about 270,000 objects from all areas, such as painting, graphics, sculptures, handicrafts, technology, musical instruments, numismatics, textiles as well as European and non-European ethnography.

General information on collections from colonial contexts in the respective institution

In accordance with the general orientation of the museum, the department of non-European ethnology was founded by gifts and purchases from Braunschweig citizens who were travellers, merchants, soldiers, seafarers, researchers or emigrants in non-European countries and brought objects from there. Therefore, the individual collections are usually small and marked by personal fates, interests or inclinations. Relatively large is as well the share of so-called "early tourist art".

The collection comprises about 8,000 objects and is considered to be largely closed, i.e. it is no longer actively collected. Possible new additions should clearly show a connection of the collectors to the city of Braunschweig. Regional focuses are Africa, Oceania and Indonesia. Smaller, partly also significant collections come from all parts of the world. These include above all the relatively small, but very old and high-quality collection from North America.

Information on the sub-collections to be researched in PAESE

The Strümpell collection of the Municipal Museum Braunschweig, which is the focus of the investigation within the PAESE project, comprises about 700 objects. Its acquisition took place in Cameroon, when the country was a German colony.

#Elefantenkopf-Pfeife Sammlung Braunschweig

Elephant head pipe from Bagam, Cameroon

Contact

Researcher: Isabella Bozsa

Director: Dr. Peter Joch

Curator: Dr. Evelin Haase

Städtisches Museum Braunschweig

Städtisches Museum Braunschweig

Allgemeine Informationen über die Institution

Das Städtische Museum Braunschweig wurde 1861 von engagierten Braunschweiger Bürgern, mit dem Ziel gegründet, Sammlungen zur Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte der Stadt aufzunehmen. Heute beinhaltet das Museum ca. 270.000 Objekte aus allen Bereichen wie Gemälde, Grafik, Skulptur, Kunsthandwerk, Technik, Musikinstrumente, Numismatik, Textilien sowie europäischer und außereuropäischer Ethnographie.

Allgemeine Informationen zu Sammlungen aus kolonialen Kontexten in der jeweiligen Institution

Entsprechend der generellen Ausrichtung des Museums entstand die Abteilung der außereuropäischen Ethnologie durch Geschenke und Ankäufe von Braunschweigern, die sich als Reisende, Kaufleute, Soldaten, Seefahrer, Forscher oder Auswanderer in außereuropäischen Ländern aufhielten und von dort Gegenstände mitbrachten. Daher sind die einzelnen Sammlungen meist klein und durch persönliche Schicksale, Interessen oder Neigungen geprägt. Relativ groß ist auch der Anteil an sogenannter „früher Touristenkunst“.

Die Sammlung umfasst ca. 8.000 Objekte und gilt weitgehend als abgeschlossen, d.h. es wird nicht mehr aktiv gesammelt. Mögliche Neuzugänge sollen deutlich einen Bezug der Sammler zur Stadt Braunschweig besitzen. Regionale Schwerpunkte sind Afrika, Ozeanien und Indonesien. Kleinere, zum Teil auch bedeutsame Sammlungen kommen aus allen Teilen der Welt. Hierzu gehört vor allem die relativ kleine, aber sehr alte und qualitätvolle Sammlung aus Nordamerika.

Informationen zu in PAESE zu erforschende Teilbestände

Die Strümpell-Sammlung des Städtischen Museums, die im Fokus der Untersuchung innerhalb des PAESE-Projekts steht, umfasst ca. 700 Objekte. Die Objekte wurden in Kamerun erworben, als das Land deutsche Kolonie war.

#Elefantenkopf-Pfeife Sammlung Braunschweig

Elefantenkopf-Pfeife aus Bagam, Kamerun

Kontakt

Projektbearbeiterin: Isabella Bozsa

Museumsdirektor: Dr. Peter Joch

Kuratorin: Dr. Evelin Haase