Fashion Exhibition

Heavyweight Fashion
Traditional Clothing and Adornment of Herero Women

Exhibition at the Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum (RPM) Hildesheim, 11 February – 2 August 2020

– Extended until 31. Januar 2021 –

 

”Field Hereros“
Late 19th century, from photo album, library of the Roemer-Museum, signature I 88, unknown photographer

 

 

 

 

 

Ornamental corset-like garment
Namibia, Herero, late 19th century, Ostrich eggshell, iron beads, leather, Inv. no. V 1.390, Unknown collector.
 

In the context of the joint project PAESE, provenance research is currently being conducted on the ethnographic Namibia collection of the RPM. This, in combination with the 175th anniversary of the “Hildesheim Museum Society of 1844”, is a perfect occasion to present a small exhibition of late 19th-century traditional ladies’ fashion from Namibia at the RPM. The fashion treasures were worn by women of the Herero in what was then “German Southwest Africa”.
The clothing of Herero women was originally made of leather studded with heavy iron beads. While diamonds were coveted by Europeans, it was iron that was considered particularly precious by the Herero. It signalled women’s wealth and status. Women’s dress was completed by personal adornments made of ostrich eggshell discs and ornamental beads. A complete attire would weigh more than 12 kilogrammes and left the breast bare.
Taking offence with the bare-bosomed Herero women in their parishes and churches, the German missionaries of the Rhenish Mission society began to introduce a new fashion in the mid-1800s: “decent”, floor-length cotton dresses.
In Germany the Herero and Nama peoples are known mainly due to the genocide committed on them by the German colonial rulers during the Namibian War of 1904–1908. Those who survived were not only bereft of their land by the German colonial authorities but also lost the cattle that had been their basis of existence. They became cheap labour to be exploited by the colonisers.
When the Herero’s old way of life disappeared in central Namibia, their material culture vanished as well, and cotton dresses came to completely replace the heavyweight fashion made of leather and iron.

 

 

 

Headdress (ekori)
Namibia, Herero, late 19th century, leather, iron beads, Inv. no. V 1.400, Unknown collector.

Contact
Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum Hildesheim GmbH
Am Steine 1-2, D-31134 Hildesheim
http://www.rpmuseum.de/
Phone:+49 (0) 5121 / 93 69 0 | E-Mail: info@rpmuseum.de
Opening hours
Thursdays – Sundays: 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM

Mode-Ausstellung

Modische Schwergewichte aus Namibia

Traditionelle Kleidung und Schmuck der Herero-Frauen

Ausstellung im Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum Hildesheim vom 11. Februar bis 2. August 2020

 

"Feldherero", Ende 19. Jahrhundert, aus Fotoalbum, Bibliothek Roemer-Museum,
Signatur I 88, Fotograf unbekannt.

 

 

 

 

Schmuck-Taillenkorsett, Herero, Ende 19. Jahrhundert, Straußeneischale, Eisenperlen, Leder, Inv.-Nr. V 1.390, Sammler unbekannt.

Anlässlich des 175-jährigen Jubiläums des „Hildesheimer Museumsvereins von 1844“ und laufender Forschung an der Namibia-Sammlung des Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museums (RPM) im Rahmen des Verbundprojektes PAESE zeigt das RPM vom 11. Februar bis 2. August 2020 eine kleine Ausstellung mit traditioneller Damenmode aus Namibia, dem damaligen „Deutsch-Südwestafrika“. Die Modeschätze aus dem späten 19. Jahrhundert wurden von den Frauen der Herero getragen.

Die Kleidungsstücke der Herero-Frauen bestanden damals aus Leder, das mit schweren Eisenperlen besetzt war. Nicht Gold und Edelsteine, sondern Eisen galt als kostbares Symbol von Ansehen und Wohlstand. Schmuck aus unzähligen Scheibchen aus Straußeneischale und Zierperlen vervollständigte die Tracht. Ein komplettes Kostüm konnte über 12 Kilo wiegen und ließ die Brust unbedeckt.

Den prüden deutschen Missionaren von der Rheinischen Mission waren die barbusigen Herero-Frauen in ihren Gemeinden und Gottesdiensten ein Dorn im Auge. Ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts führten sie daher eine neue Mode ein: „züchtige“ bodenlange Baumwollkleider.

In Deutschland sind die Herero bis heute durch den Völkermord bekannt, den die deutsche Kolonialmacht während des Deutsch-Namibischen Krieges 1904–1908 an ihnen und einer anderen Bevölkerungsgruppe, den Nama, verübte. Den Überlebenden nahm die Kolonialregierung ihr Land und ihre Rinderherden und machte sie sich als billige Arbeitskräfte zunutze. Mit der alten Lebensweise verschwand auch die materielle Kultur der Herero, und farbenfrohe Baumwollkleider ersetzten endgültig die modischen Schwergewichte aus Leder und Eisen.

 

 

Frauen-Kopfschmuck (ekori) mit Kopfband, Herero, Ende 19. Jahrhundert, Leder mit Eisenperlen,
Inv.-Nr. V 1.400, 1.401, Sammler unbekannt.

Kontakt

Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum Hildesheim GmbH
Am Steine 1-2, D-31134 Hildesheim

http://www.rpmuseum.de/

Telefon:+49 (0) 5121 / 93 69 0 | E-Mail: info@rpmuseum.de

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag - Sonntag: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr